Unhealthy eating cost less? Your doctor bills beg to differ.

Standard

It has been a long standing excuse for many that eating healthy is more expensive than eating unhealthy and there are even studies to back this up. There is a study that says eating healthy will cost you $550 per year and to this I say bologna! So here is my crazy woman rant.

I would like to caution that I am not saying eating healthy is cheap but I do say that the $550 figure is not correct. With smart shopping and weighing the benefits I believe that eating healthy is just the same or dare I say cheaper than eating unhealthy in the long run.

Let me start with the benefits side. Not only are you saving HUGE money on things such as health insurance but you are also saving money when you go out. For example my boyfriend and I use to go out to eat at least once a weekend and spend about $25 per person! Now we cook all our meals at home and go out to eat maybe once a month. That is about a $50 saving a month!  I know that there are many other people who are like this. Every occasion or celebration includes going out to eat and when you go out to eat you consider it as ‘treating yourself’ so when the check comes you don’t faint! It seems that food is involved in everything these days.  Just think about it, when you go to the movies what is the thing that cost the most? The food! The essential staple for a movie is a big bag of overly buttered popcorn that can cost upwards of $6 and if you get soda and candy also your food cost can be $10-15! When I go to the movies I usually bring my own snack. I know what you’re thinking,  Deanna that is ILLEGAL. I know I know but I like to live on the wild side sometimes, it makes me feel alive. I will usually pack something like granola or vegetables. Let me get to the bottom line before this small rant becomes a novel, when you choose a healthy lifestyle you cut out a lot of different expenses that help you save money in the long run.

Now when it comes to shopping smart and eating healthy it is the same basic rules

  • Use coupons
  • Buy in bulk – The bigger you buy the less per unit/oz cost
  • Buy when on sale – you can easily freeze what you don’t need. Did you know you can freeze milk and bread (the bread that they put on sale is a good buy)
  • Don’t buy things that are precut, preseasoned or fancy like that. Do the work yourself and save cash.
  • Skip the pop, fruit juices ect and switch to water.

Everyone deserves a rant every once and a while right?

If you want to read somebody else rant about this exact same thing go here—  http://ow.ly/zxLcV

UPDATE:

I am now more than a week into my low carb diet and my body is just starting to adjust. I went into pinterest and went crazy on pinning a bunch of low carb recipes and will be trying them out and posting them soon. I also have not weighed myself because I am going to give it about another week. I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself or get discouraged. I will keep you guys updated on my next post.

Be Active, Be Healthy, Be Happy

3 thoughts on “Unhealthy eating cost less? Your doctor bills beg to differ.

  1. I agree with you it is cheaper in the long run (and usually in the short run too) to eat healthier. Personally, I’ve come to the conclusion that for most cases, “eating healthier is expensive” is just an excuse we peddle so that we don’t have to feel that it’s our fault we have a poor diet. Of course corporations spending billions of dollars to make addictive food doesn’t make it easier, but ultimately, most of us have the power to at least make small positive changes to our lives… N that adds up quick. Good luck with diet 🙂

    • I totally agree with you! and when it is more expensive to eat healthy for example it cost more to make a burger than to go out and buy one at Mcdonalds I quickly point out that there is a reason that Mcdonalds is so cheap and its not just because they bulk buy but because the quality of food is so low! I guess I just believe that when weighing the benefits eating healthy always wins!

Leave a comment